Skip to content

Twitter powered by mid-life crises?

April 18, 2009

Fascinating article from Comscore about how Twitter traffic is exploding, with worldwide visitors to Twitter at nearly 10 million in February – up over 700% in 12 month. Wow!

However, later in the article when it says that 54-64 year olds are more likely to visit Twitter than 18-24 year olds and you sit there going – no way!

 

twitter-chart2

Interestingly, after following the whole @aplusk versus @cnnbrk race to 1 million, (which I found strangely entertaining), I then had this empty feeling afterward that made me think ‘enough’ of this. It’s been a while since I’ve been ‘youff,’ but I do know that their bulls**t radar is much better than mine and maybe they just moved on from Twitter a while ago – if they were there at all.

There’s no doubt if Twitter hasn’t jumped the shark in the past week (I can only imagine the spike @oprah is going to cause!?), that it is not far away. If the herd moves on – then where is the next most likely destination – I don’t think it’s going to be Flutter’s 26 characters!?

 

Right, gotta go and hang with my hair-loss group on Twitter now!

PS – I still can’t unfollow @aplusk – set me FREE Ashton, set me FREE!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

